JAKQ – Episode #05

jakq-5-0
GENERAL OVERVIEW

Anybody wanna play “Spot The Recycled Footage From The First Episode”? 😛 This release has been a long time coming to say the least, and we all hope you think it was worth the wait. ‘Cause, yeah, this is a pretty good one. You’ll laugh, you’ll cry! All that jazz! We also get the dastardly Kenji Ushio and his amazing evil laugh as today’s CRIME Boss (more on him below). Anddd… Well, apparently Daichi is easily persuaded with food! Shame on you, Daichi!

CLICK HERE FOR OUR RELEASES!

~~~

KENJI USHIO (潮 健児) – UN-NAMED CRIME BOSS

While I’m saddened to report that he passed away back in 1993, he’s played a variety of roles and fans of the genre are bound to recognize them. I believe he’s best known for his performance as Ambassador Hell (Kamen Rider ’71), but he was also Saburoube Fukuro (Thunder-Stealth Captor 1 – Ninja Captor) as well as Doctor Q (Kyoudai Ken Bycrosser).

~~~

SPECIAL SHOUT OUT

Frank – From this release onward, our new friend here will be helping out with translation checking! You’re the man!
Nanto – For making us an .MP4! Whoo, this was a total act of kindness out of nowhere but it really helps! Thanks so much!

ADDITIONAL NOTES
The card game in the episode title [0:03:12.61] is “Snap”, which you can read more about here.
We localized this, but the actual Japanese saying at [0:06:52.95] is literally (in Sky’s words) “Separate and search every root of the grass”.
Kibidango [0:13:53.98] would translate into “millet dumplings”.
[0:20:39.25] translates literally into “You’re still alive?!”, but as you watch you’ll notice that it actually makes zero sense in context. Simply said, nobody in JAKQ was thought to have died. The scuffle between Devil Wrestler and Ace earlier in the episode is moot because the bad guys clearly saw him get away, not to mention that they had another encounter right before this line was said so… We chalked it up to bad writing or a mistake in production, and took a liberty with how we handled this line.

50 thoughts on “JAKQ – Episode #05

  1. Nice; more tragic cyborgs! This is actually a good highlight episode and, along with a later one, really sort of shows that Spade Ace is just a very heart-filled Red, which is surprising for this era with the way he is.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Making just one episode is a lot of work, you know. But it’s true you guys are the only hope at the moment for hundreds of fans to see all of JAKQ one time, but take it easy man. The release took long but now you’ve got quality above quantity. The subs are done well and don’t need a re-do. So less work in the long run. You guys are awsome, and Jarkes, put a little effort in your comment to work out the details. This is just rude XD

        Liked by 2 people

      • It’s nice when people at least remember to say “thank you for the episode” before jumping in with the “gimme more faster.” But as someone who knows how many hours of work go into subtitling a single 24 minute episode, I’m very grateful to all of you. I’ve waited a LOT of years to see more subtitled JAKQ, it won’t kill me to wait a few more.

        Liked by 1 person

    • …Oops, that totally slipped my mind. I’m not sure if I can make .MP4s anymore because I had to reinstall my OS and lost my entire setup a few months ago. ;~; I’ll look into it though, but can’t make any promises unfortunately now that I’m much busier.

      Like

  2. Thank you for the episode,I’m truly glad that you sub these series,can’t wait to add these series to my page in PowerRangerPlanet once it’s completely done,Thank you again. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      • Sorta here and there and maybe a little bit of being everywhere??? Idk lol, honestly just working. Hard work finally paying off though, I’m supposed to be going to like, Disney World (hip hip hooray? Childhood dream a a teeeeeeeny bit too late) with a few peeps for the hell of it this April – well and to enjoy some warmth because HOLY HELL did my middle-of-nowhere-4lokoless-state get hit with a snowstorm just a few days ago. Oh yeah, and like, going to Mexico this May.

        WILL I BE ALLOWED BACK INTO THE USA? I. DO. NOT KNOW.

        Where you been hanging around, ya bish? You been good? ;pppp

        Liked by 1 person

      • Y-You became a prostitute? o: And hey, you’re gonna love Disney World! Hope you have fun! And Mexico is bomb as fuck too, good for you. Man, I’m hella jelly 😛 Iunno if I should share personal details here, do you not visit the ex-Bird anymore??

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Lmfao please, if I was as half as rich as you, I’d be totally out in Florida by now. ;~;

    Actually yeah I do! I just got lazy with updating the bird list. (I still keep up with the new stuffs) Just gotta actually get down to it and start tracking everything again before I forget lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I-I’m rich? WAIT, are you saying I’m a prostitute?? Ah, I see! I thought you stopped watching animu altogether, like, damn son 😛 Hit me up on the ex-Bird, then! We can chat more openly there, y’know? xD

      Like

  4. Does anyone think that this picture of Space Ace looks like the Japanese version of Freddie Prince Jr. As Fred from Scooby Doo? It’s been bugging me all this time and the name finally popped into my head. Please tell me that I’m not the only one to see this.

    P.S.
    Anyone know what happened to GUIS? It’s been a while and with the return of this site I hoped others would do the same.

    Liked by 1 person

    • >Space Ace

      Now that you mention it… Ehhh, I can ‘kinda’ see where you’re coming from http://prntscr.com/efek3o What a world though, having an actor named Freddie play Fred…

      Iunno, I don’t think any of us are particularly super chummy with the G.U.I.S. peeps to know anything like that :X I can only assume Shir is a lot busier now that he’s married, but you’d have better luck asking… You know, one of them 😛 VirusHopper is pretty nice, you may probably be able to ask him on Twitter maybe? They did release something just last month though, did you not see it? O.o

      Like

    • I thought this was gonna be another “Screw you guys for being so slow!” comment before I even read it >___< But thank you so much for the kind words, we hope you'll enjoy our next release too! (:

      Like

      • It’s nice to receive a little praise. Did you see the Power Ranger movie? It wasn’t bad, but it needed more action.

        Like

      • It is 🙂 I don’t speak for the others, but I don’t like Power Rangers or the recent trend of remaking everything so naw. I think at least Nemet’s seen it though, and it sounds like he enjoyed it 😛

        Like

      • The movie had moments that could be from any teen drama movie. The suits were cool, but I didn’t like the open face design during the climax. One of the things I hated were the cameos from Amy Jo Johnson and Jason David Frank because I hated their characters. Tommy stole the spotlight from the other rangers and Kimberly was a love struck teen.

        Out of curiosity, what did you think of the original Power Rangers movie? Ivan Ooze was a good villain because he could make his soldiers out of himself and also could’ve created a few good Oozemen in every bottle of ooze. I thought the Megazord fight was a little foolish after I learned of where it came from and that the rangers used a cheap shot and a comet to defeat the bad guy.
        The soundtrack was good and I bought a Van Halen album just to listen to Dreams. Did you have any thing that you liked about movie, provided if you watched it?

        Like

  5. I meant the complete stop of releases because someone kept a countdown to the next release. I want all releases to keep coming. Happy Easter.

    Like

Leave A Comment!